Travel Information


You must hold a valid passport to enter Switzerland and it must be valid for the duration of your stay.

Schengen Nationals
Switzerland is a member of the Schengen Agreement which means that anyone travelling between countries that have signed and implemented the treaty, which includes all European Union (EU) countries excluding Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom, Iceland, Norway and Switzerland, can enter the country without a visa.

EU and EFTA Nationals
Nationals of EU and EFTA (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) countries only need a valid national identity card or passport for entry.

Rest of the World
Nationals of non-EU/EFTA countries will generally need a passport for entry to a Schengen country and most will need a visa.

Only the nationals of the following non-EU/EFTA countries do not need a visa for entry into the Schengen Area: Albania*, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Japan, Macedonia*, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro*, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, Serbia*/**, Seychelles, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan*** (Republic of China), United States, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela, British Nationals (Overseas), Hong Kong SAR or Macau SAR passports.

These non-EU/EFTA visa-free visitors may not stay more than 90 days in a 180 day period in any Schengen Area as a whole. The 90 day allowance begins when you enter any country in the Schengen area.

* nationals of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia need a biometric passport to enjoy visa-free travel

** Serbian nationals with passports issued by the Serbian Coordination Directorate (residents of Kosovo with Serbian passports) do need a visa

*** Taiwan nationals need their ID number to be stipulated in their passport to enjoy visa-free travel

For more information, visit:


As Switzerland is not a member of the EU, travellers entering the country are subject to customs controls even if there are no immigration controls.

Unaccompanied minors (travellers under the age of 18 years) are strongly advised to have a note of consent from their parents/guardian, as well as a copy of the parents' or guardian's valid passport or ID card.

For more information about Switzerland visit

Share this page

Official Presenting Sponsor
Official Main Sponsors
Official Host City
Official Event Partners
Official WCF Partners